Friday, September 20, 2013

Pull The Trigger

I'm an advocate for safe, responsible gun ownership. I'm ok with background checks, and limiting those who have received inpatient and/or extended psychiatric care to having access to guns. I'm ok with children learning how to properly handle a gun, but don't think that they should be given free reign of it -- like not even leaving it out for cleaning, or whatever, and having live rounds easily accessible nearby (I've seen this happen and T had to basically pinch me to keep me from saying something). I believe that if you pull the trigger, you better be prepared to kill something or someone -- if not, then finger off the trigger. I believe that limiting law abiding citizens from having guns is the dumbest thing ever and basically giving a green light to criminals to go ahead and rob, rape and kill innocent people. I am fully behind having trained, competent teachers and administrations who feel comfortable with a weapon keep a weapon concealed in the classroom under lock and key. I also feel that every woman should shoot a gun and know how to properly use one for self protection. Now, what outrages me is yet again Chicago.

I woke up, was scanning the sites to see what I wanted to snark about today. International? Fluff? Domestic? Dumbassery? Oh! There was another shooting in Chicago. Am I shocked? Not really. Every few weeks there seems to be a small blurb about a shooting in Chicago. I think this one outraged me a little more because a 3-year old was shot in this one, which is basically the same age as B. But of course, where is all the uproar over this? I've pondered this time and again, this is the President's "hometown" so why doesn't he put pressure on Rahm and everyone he knows back there to get their act together? I think we all know why the media doesn't go after it but people should -- especially those who don't want to see Chicago style gun laws enacted in their areas (semi-automatic weapons ban, magazine capacity limit, etc). I just get so frustrated that the people who are so quick to back abortions, go to war with Syria, but will not stand up and say "Enough is enough, Chicago, you have three year olds on playgrounds who are being unnecessarily shot for what?" At some point, this glorifying of gang life and repetition of it needs to stop. And now we come right back into the whole, parents need to be parents, no matter how many jobs they have to work or parents are participating in that child's life. If you leave a child to be raised by a village that goes by some ridiculous gangland code, you will just spawn more gangsters and less productive citizens.

In addition to people getting on the people they elect, I guess to it helps to have legislators who actually understand how guns work and the proper safe handling. Remember when the gun control debate was raging in Colorado a few months back? I remind you of state Rep Diana DeGette who didn't understand that magazines are reusable. I always laugh when I hear that states ban "high capacity" magazines because a) you can just refill the magazine with more ammunition and b) once you're out you can just replace the empty magazine with a full back up. Do these people really think that banning more than seven rounds in a magazine is going to stop mass shootings? No, because those people will either have high capacity magazines or multiple magazines. And then everyone's favorite, Dianne Feinstein



A picture is worth a thousand words, right? This one to me is priceless. At the end of the day everyone needs to remember, criminals will be criminals and get their hands on guns in whatever way possible. Taking away guns from law abiding citizens will just end badly, with more crime. Or it can end like this.

Happy Friday!

No comments:

Post a Comment