Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Make DC Listen... 17 Hours & Counting

If you've been keeping up with me on facebook or twitter (@morning_snark), you know that I've basically been following the great speech from the beginning. I hope that all Obamites take note, this is how a great speech is made, no um's, no uh's, no teleprompters.  I've been a Cruz supporter since he helped Rand filibuster the Brennan nomination, and I've made no secrets of desiring a Paul-Cruz ticket but ohmygosh, Ted Cruz is freakin' amazing. I slept about 3.5-4 hours early this morning but I can't seem to turn it off -- even my husband who isn't very political (I guess as a good soldier really should be honestly given the regs) became political last night. I will say that I do apologize if this post seems a bit off as I'm a bit sleepy still and that I'm trying to tune out Disney Jr while listening to C-SPAN on the laptop as I type.

Ted Cruz's critics have said that he's too extreme, he's lost his marbles, he's a wackobird, that he's out of touch. Just stop right there, if anything has shown in the last 17 hours it is that Ted Cruz is not out of touch with the American people. When more than 50% oppose Obamacare, when people are begging for exemptions, when people are realizing that their health insurance will go up if not completely dropped, when people realize that their hours will be cut because of Obamacare and there have only been a handful of Senators who have spoken out in the last 17 hours, two of whom are democrats who definitely do not support Cruz's mission. One of the big points he's made is that if Obamacare is so great, then why has its namesake given himself and other federal bigwigs exemptions? I love this because it's true, if it's not good enough for them then it's not good enough for the American people. Another point that has been repeatedly made is that Obamacare is not going to help job creations as employers cut back hours, stop opening new businesses -- he even cited White Castle.

Sorry, I'm hitting the wall. We know this is bad legislation. We know that Sens Cruz, Lee, Rubio, Sessions, Roberts, Vitter, Enzi, Paul, and if I forgot any I do apologize aren't off their rockers for wanting to defund Obamacare. They've even said that the Senate should just pass the House resolution and then go through and reform or completely scrap Obamacare in order to avoid a government shut down. And yeah I'm gonna be a blame shifter here because I feel that it's blame that is justly placed: If the government shuts down, it is the fault of the President and the Senate democrats and those Republicans who try to outcast those above named Senators for not coming to a better agreement and compromise and not listening to what the people want.

No comments:

Post a Comment