Sorry if I seem a bit sluggish this morning. I'm waiting on my coffee, suffering from a two day football binge, and we're in the middle of potty training B and if you ever successfully potty trained a two year old boy well hats off. But here we go...
If you've liked the facebook page, then over the weekend you saw I posted some silly memes, photos, graphics, whatever you want to call them. As much as I love the Obama-Bush sports comparisons, and the French lesson (which totally made me giggle seeing as how I was joking with hubby the other day that learning French would be good, after all they're our only potential ally in this Syria debacle), I love, love, loved the Stephen Colbert photo I put up. In case you didn't see it, here it is:
How true is this? I know we expect satire from Stephen but this is such a great argument that you just have to stop and say, "huh." Not huh? but huh. It makes total sense, doesn't it? Of course no one in this administration is willing to admit that the great hometown of Barack Obama has a gun problem. How could they, they have very stringent gun control and of course thugs, gangs, felons and drug lords would never obtain a weapon illegally. (Oh! Coffee! Thanks hubby, now we're cooking!) I guess it's sort of the same as when the District and Baltimore had insanely high murder rates -- like the kind where they said a soldier more likely to die in Baltimore than Iraq insanely high -- and these two cities are the playground and backyard for the White House. But when it's the President's acclaimed hometown that has a shooting problem of that proportion and the President isn't using any sway with the mayor (you know, the guy that was his Chief of Staff, good ol' Rahm Emanuel (side note: there was a hilarious fake twitter account in his name when he was running for mayor, it was the greatest thing ever)) to help clean it up. I mean, kudos for doing an amazing job keeping it out of the media for the most part -- especially during the circus that was the Zimmerman trial. There were a few people demanding to know why Jesse, Al, and all of them weren't protesting in Chicago every damn day. Of course they tried to play it off like there wasn't a problem in Chicago.
We all are smart enough to know that the Zimmerman trial was all about politics. If the country knew how bad Chicago really is with their gun violence, it'd be a political nightmare. First off, it shows that clearly gun control is a joke. While I support background checks, and even mental health checks, the fact is if someone wants a gun they will find a way to get one. Whether it's stealing one from a law abiding citizen, or buying one through a cartel that runs guns and drugs (ok, maybe I watch a little too much Sons of Anarchy, or maybe we should just ask Eric Holder?) the fact remains, somehow people are getting guns and murdering other people. Second off, ok I know that people are already against Syria (minus a few nutjob Senators who should be voted out) but this (along with you know the economy, Benghazi, the IRS scandals and the fact that they'll be the ones regulating Obamacare, NSA snooping on everyone and their mother, voter fraud, Obamacare, what else I am missing?) should rally even more people to demand that we focus on domestic issues until there is a credible threat against the United States. Yes it's horrific what's going on Syria, but when you have people running around this country killing people just because (it's not just regulated to Chicago as evidenced by the Chris Lane and Delbert Benton murders) something needs to be done. Until we can get our own issues, no matter how phony the administration may consider them, fixed we have no business getting this country into another long, drawn out, no decisive victory, lose more of our good men and women war. Is it 2016 yet?

No comments:
Post a Comment