As we near October, I kind of hold my breath and count to ten every time mentions the government shutting down. Army wives are notorious for being worst case scenario gossips. They're also the ones hoarding twinkies and diet coke like the zombies are about to attack (personally, I prefer snowballs and we all know how that turns out in the real zombie apocalypse), screw legit stuff. Ok, enough making fun of Army wives (I do that enough in my daily life with my friends, and yes, I do realize that I'm an Army wife and yes, I do give a forewarning to them when I'm about to go all OSMW) but the fact is, there's some worry that if the government shuts down that means that we don't get paid. It's happened before and it's stressful, especially for the joes living paycheck to paycheck. And here's the best part, our military still must go to work every morning without getting paid. Sure, they'll get back pay and stuff once the government finally gets going again, but until then work without pay minions! We've already "suffered" the effects of the sequestration, I mean having the commissary shut down was inconvenient but we dealt with it, and the lack of towels at the gym, dang that was rough. Honestly, I've been to the gym twice since we moved to the post we're at and there's a Kroger down the street if we really needed groceries on one of the two days the commissary was closed. We survived the unnecessary with sequestration because let's face it, sequestration was just a political game in which the Administration was trying to intimidate to get their way and show that they do matter. In the end, it just ticked off a lot of the military community. But now here we are, a week and a few days out from October and there's a worry in the air.
As crazy as it may sounds after what I've just written, I'm ok with a government shutdown if it's because Obamacare will not be repealed. It's an atrocious piece of legislation that had lawmakers read before they passed it (Thanks, Nancy!) they would have realized that it won't lower cost of insurance, even the Supreme Court called it a tax, and it will eventually make our worldwide sought after healthcare non-existent. And given the fact that the last time the Senate passed a budget was in April 2009. It's been nearly five years since a budget has been passed. The federal government has been operating on continued resolutions for their funding needs. How big of a joke is it that this Administration basically has not passed a budget its entire time in existence? Getting the Senate to pass a budget a mere three months after Obama took office for the first time isn't a major feat. The major feat is that this Administration and its loyalists have been voted for again and again and lauded and glorified and they can't even pass a budget. What. The. Heck?! If we didn't budget in our house do you really think I'd have a laptop to blog on, internet to get it to you, a phone just incase I get an idea and have to post something on the go, a TV to watch crappy TV when I'm sick, a car to get to the grocery store, etc, etc, etc? No. No I would not. If we operated like the federal government we'd be screwed beyond screwed. But you know, who cares about the little people who had to forgo family vacations this year and the past few years, who can't afford a nicer car because the one they have is falling apart, who can't afford a whole lot because our budgets won't allow us. It's cool federal government, keep taking your fancy vacations, attending your fancy parties, sending your kids to private schools (even though you campaign and advocate for public schools like it was the end of the world), keep your health insurance now that you've been exempt from taking part in Obamacare, you keep doing fabulous things with money that we don't have because it's all about screwing the American public that loves you so much they keep reelected your dumb asses to Congress and the Presidency. Get your shit together, repeal Obamacare and for Pete's sake pass a damn budget already!
No comments:
Post a Comment