Monday, September 16, 2013

Monday Morning Quaterback

I'm back! Hubby got an unexpected long weekend so I decided to just stow the devices til this morning. I posted on facebook and twitter here and there but nothing major. Today's just going to be a catch up post kind of day so let's go.

Benghazi. Ben Ghazi? That's a person right? No, no, no it's a phony scandal. No, wait it was a story shoved away and then everyone who helped to cover it up got promoted to big kid posts. One year and five days later we are still no closer to knowing what happened. Good for those in Congress who push for answers -- especially concerning Syria. I love that Rep Jeff Duncan (R-SC) challenged John Kerry (which I did a quick blurb about but here's a link with video and transcript) on Benghazi and said that it's relevant to military action in Syria. This administration had advance knowledge that things in Benghazi were starting to get hostile, but the State Department ignored those and the requests for more security and in the end four Americans died. Americans haven't died in Syria. I feel awful for the people of Syria, but I feel worse for the Stephens, Woods, Smith & Doherty families because their loved ones were absolutely unnecessarily killed. But you know, doesn't matter because eh, it's just a made up scandal by those damn tinfoil tea party crazies.

Here she is... Miss America. No it wasn't Miss Kansas. I will say, good for her for serving her country and having tattoos. But honestly, is it that big of a deal? I mean, Honey Boo-Boo is a freakin' pageant queen, and that is fairly unexpected (unless you're familiar with pageants in the South where every little girl is entered at some point). Is it the whole left trying to say, see this is what female empowerment looks like. Blah blah blah. Oh. My. God. I don't know, maybe it's just because we're Army and I see many females running around in uniform and doing well in their job, can hunt, and what not doesn't mean that Miss Kansas is an anomaly. But then again, maybe if Hollywood and the liberals actually understood the military then this wouldn't be a shock to them. Especially the tattoos, many a soldier, male or female, have tattoos.

Oh! Colorado. I'm sorry about the flooding Colorado. What I am not sorry is that anti-gun legislators were recalled and are whining about voter suppression. No, what happened wasn't voter suppression, it was the people exercising their right to hold a recall election and vote you out because they lost confidence in you. In fact, one guy who had a sign out detailing voting laws was claimed to be "intimidating voters." Really? It's nice that the voting laws were on display. Now, if we can get voters to present ID that would be awesome.

Now a quick parent rant. Why is Disney Junior pushing Spanish? They have these little shorts about learning and healthy eating which overall is great, but lately they've been incorporating Spanish words, foods, and other related cultural activities. Now, I'm not saying that we should have a national established language of English in the United States, but what I am saying is that if we were to go to France I'd speak French. If we went to Russia (or you know, get taken over by Russia), I'd learn Russian. You get the point. However, it's frustrating when you go to a place and there's a menu in English and Spanish, or you call and have to press a button for English or Spanish. Then we go back to the immigration debate of why people here illegally and not willing to speak English get citizenship over those who have gone through the proper channels and learned to speak English and want to assimilate to American ways. Granted, I had one grandmother who was militant according to some stories about people who would be in public and not speaking English and another who immigrated, spoke English but preferred to speak German (she taught me my prayers in German when I was little), and a mother whose first language was German but she assimilated and learned English (you'd never know that English was her second language honestly). But the bottom line is, maybe I don't want B to know Spanish right now, maybe I think that we should spend more time focusing on being American than other cultures. Sadly though, I'm starting to see that wane.

Out of rants for the moment (mainly because I have to make sure B didn't run off and pee in a corner, I hate potty training!). I'll try to come up with something coherent and thought provoking for this afternoon so be on the watch. Happy Monday!

No comments:

Post a Comment