Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Re-edumacation

So I was up quite early this morning thanks to hubby's PT alarm and decided to do a quick scan of articles posted on facebook. I love that more people reposted the Daily Currant's story concerning the impeachment of the President. Honestly until I saw that last night, I had never heard of Daily Currant or if I have I don't remember it, but I did a quick scour of the majors to find out. Well, suspicions confirmed thanks to a look through and then a text from Rambling Mom (Happy Birthday!) to definitely say that it's satire and I went on with my night. The lesson learned people, if it seems too good to be true these days, then it's probably false. Anyway, I saw something about how DC should shutdown once a year (which I kind of think is a great idea). Then the usual shutdown, I blame X, Y but not Z for this shutdown. And then I found this awesome little gem on The Blaze.

I think that Common Core does nothing but hurt our education system. I suck at math, hubby can vouch for that as I've been no help to him in his college algebra class that he's taking this semester. But with Common Core, I'd be a math superstar because if there's one thing I learned in all my political science classes, it was how to bullshit my way through an argument -- and in Common Core math classes, as long as you can explain the wrong answer well that's good enough. Stop right there, this whole good enough thing is crap and teaches our younger generations nothing. Obviously I think it's a conspiracy to groom them to be so complacent and rely on the government and not excel and think for themselves, but anyway. So a common core school outside the district (how convenient) put out this supposedly anonymous survey that was allegedly (anyone else remember those old Starr Jones skits on SNL when they say allegedly? Yeah, that's how it sounded in my head) put together by students. Well of course the school district is saying that people have nothing to fear and that there will be no repercussions based on these "anonymous" student responses. Raise your hand if you're buying that? Raise your hand if you remember every completing a survey like this when you were in school? I sure as hell don't. While I never knew who my parents were voting for (even though I'd beg and plead with them and had my own opinions of candidates since '92, I remember being very disappointed that Clinton won because my little seven year old brain just didn't trust the guy), I could guess based on what was talked about around the dinner table sometimes. Now granted if it is a truly anonymous survey, some of the questions I could care less about (gender, siblings, which neck of Montgomery County do you live), but asking what religion you identify with or what ethnicity you identify with (I always love that question because I put Asian-Pacific Islander and no one every believes me even though I'm well within the legit limits to claim it), household income (really, does any sophomore know exactly what their parents bring in? I mean, I knew growing up that we were fairly well off, but I couldn't tell you exactly where we fell), sexual orientation, and then all the Obamacare, shutdown and the are you a racist question, these are all ridiculous. I fully believe this is to shame kids with well off parents (no matter what their ethnicity because it's not just rich, white people in Montgomery County) and to become the sheeple that this administration relies on. If you start grooming them early and identify who doesn't fit into the mold by using these surveys, you can adjust expectations and education. It's sad that the education of these younger generations are being driven by partisan politics rather than basic facts, and that just trying gets them by.

No comments:

Post a Comment