Friday, October 4, 2013

Holidays Smolidays

I want to start by apologizing if this is riddled with errors. My laptop is being occupied so I'm writing on the iPad. Blah. Anyway, it's October 4th and per our usual morning routine, B gets breakfast & Disney Junior while I get stuff organized for the day and blog. Today though it's all about Halloween on Disney Junior. What the heck? We really couldn't wait a few more weeks? It's like how the day after Halloween, Christmas stuff  starts to go up. We don't start watching "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" until mid-October because Benny really loves Charlie Brown holiday specials and would watch them year round if I let him. The point is, why in the last decade or so have we turned each holiday into some elaborate commercial thing? For me it totally takes away the meaning and/or specialness of that particular holiday (screw valentines day which is just a legit commercial holiday, I think hubby thanks me for not celebrating it).

But going back to Halloween, when also did it become acceptable for females of all ages now to slut it out? Ok I get it in college, especially freshman year, but to have 12 year olds be "sexy kitties" or post college ladies be "sexy cops" isn't cute. No one wants to see that -- especially on young girls. But again it boils down to a lack of parenting (or a lack of growing up for the older ladies), and I wonder if you don't let your kid dress like a slut every day then why is it ok to encourage it on Halloween? We should be encouraging fun, cute costumes that keep our children children. And for the parents taking your kid trick or treating, if you dress up then be a positive example for you child in your costume choice -- don't scour Pinterest and the stores for the sluttiest thing possible (unless you and your husband are into that and are keeping it behind closed doors, whatever). Once again I wish we could throw back to the 40s and 50s.

No comments:

Post a Comment