So it started off fairly quietly, I honestly first saw it on The Blaze and then Fox News and now it seems as more details come out, more outlets are picking it up. Who kills someone just for fun? Seriously, who? Apparently these three teenagers do. First off, I feel so awful for the victim's family, girlfriend, teammates, and friends. What they're going through is absolutely horrendous. No one should ever have to go through a senseless tragedy such as this. Second off, good for the DA's office for prosecuting these three men as adults. Hopefully it will send a message to other wannabe young thugs that going around killing people isn't cool, it isn't fun, it isn't your video game where people just get life after life after life no matter how many times they got blown up or whatever. When I first read about this on The Blaze, it didn't identify the killers and in the comments there were people who immediately thought that it was suspect. Well today, not only were the killers identified but their mug shots were on display as well. It goes a step further on The Blaze and shows screenshots that were taken from the killers' facebook accounts, showing off weapons and if that is a legit photo, a significant amount of cash. My quick parent reaction was this, what in God's name are these kids doing brandishing weapons like that and why the hell do they have that much cash, in hundreds no less, in their possession? Please, someone explain this to me.
But here's where I'm very perplexed. Where are the Reverends? Why aren't they in Oklahoma raising hell, saying that the two accused killers have been wrongly accused and such? Especially since the two black men are younger than Trayvon Martin. I'm just wondering what the standard is here after the circus that was the Zimmerman trial and Al and Jesse ran their mouths saying that there was no justice. Where are the celebrities coming out in droves twitting and facebooking their support for these two guys? Seriously, what is the criteria to get that group riled up? Is it because the victim and one of the accused killers are white? If the killing of Trayvon Martin was senseless in their words, is than is the killing of Chris Lane an act of sense or something? Why are they not saying, this just needs to stop -- no matter what the skin color of the accused and the victim.
We need young people to have better role models than the guns, drugs and money thug life culture. I know that not every home is a two parent household or that one parent is always able to stay home; but parents need to be more involved in their child's life -- no matter how old. This whole it takes a village, I'll let someone else take care of it mentality is bullshit. Plain and simple. This just isn't an isolated incident in Oklahoma. This is happening throughout the country, whether young people are killing others just for fun or for drugs or money or gang allegiances or whatever. The Reverends, the activists, the celebrities all need to take a hard look at themselves and realize what is important and look at all the facts before screaming fire in a crowded theater. And these double standards of raising hell for political gain need to end. We need to value all lives.
No comments:
Post a Comment