I'm a slacker... I know. I promised the guys I'd make them biscuits for breakfast which in our house doesn't mean busting open that scary can (yes, I am terrified of losing an eye every time I have to open one of those cans) but actually making buttermilk biscuits from scratch. Well, I apparently was super motivated and did a double batch to freeze and in the middle of it little man was demanding stories so we ended up going to story time at the library. Whew, busy morning. Now though, now I have a few minutes to myself so let's do this (sorry if I seem slightly distracted, have The Real Housewives of Orange County on in the background, and if you're unaware it's the reunion episode... Bring on the drama!).
When did we turn into a bunch of whiney pansy assed babies in this country? So a few days ago as I was perusing facebook, my fav instigator posted this. Really? Seriously? People, people, people... This is why we need to issue parenting licenses (yes, I promise I will get to voter IDs within the next week or so). To me, putting your laundry pods, your dishwasher pods, your other detergents, your bleach, your cleaning supplies, everything that should have a "Mr Ick" (do you remember those? Am I dating myself with that?) sticker on it should be locked up, up high, whatever so your child doesn't to it is simple common sense. Then I have to remind myself, "Self, clearly people lack common sense if people are all in a tizzy and demanding that these pods be taken off the shelf."
Now, going back to the whole people need parenting licenses... This is not a new thought for me or for other people I know. You need a license to vote, to drive, to hunt, to fish, to run a business, etc. Having children isn't a right, it is a privilege -- whether you conceive a child naturally or adopt or whatever -- just like driving, voting, running a business, etc. I get it, "accidents" (I prefer to call them happy surprises) happen and people get pregnant (I'm not getting into you know what right now) so you put them into a parenting class as soon as possible. If you're ambitious, take the class early and get licensed. No license? No taking the baby home (in theory you should have at least six months, if not more to take this class). Now what would be required in this class? What I consider "the basics": proper diaper change, feedings (both breast & bottle with no bias towards either one because let's face it, there's already enough pressure out there for moms -- especially first time moms), what to do if the baby isn't feeling well, proper safety like sleeping conditions, covering wall outlets, locking up chemicals and stuff in cabinets, etc. To me, this is reasonable and can be taught by nurses, the Department of Family & Child Services. I just don't really understand how people can be so moronic that it has gotten to the point of needing parenting licenses. Oh and what happens if the person doesn't obtain their license in time? As much as I hate the idea, foster care. Go ahead, jump all over me but honestly in some cases it needs to be done.
Awesome, it's now raining and I left my bike in the middle of the driveway. Time to take care of that, and then maybe a nap and to brainstorm for tomorrow morning's snark.
No comments:
Post a Comment