Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Capture The Flag

It's bbbbaaaaaccccckkkkk! Over the weekend with all the March on Washington rallies and such, someone captured it. The Obama flag is back! It's popped up here and there over the last several years but amid all the racial tension, the scandals, the push towards tyranny (ok, socialism, but with a lot of these people that are in places of power, it's only a matter of time before it becomes tyranny) of course the flag is back -- because Obama is the best president this country has ever seen and if you don't agree then you're racist or wearing a tinfoil hat or waging the war on women or trying to take away rights or or or... Yeah. Keep pulling up all the crazy counterclaims that make it seem like you're just oh so proud Americans (even though you apologize for how horrendous Americans are because of cases like Trayvon Martin and immigration and a lack of healthcare for all). If you truly love this country in my opinion, you'd respect our beloved flag.

If Americans had burned the Quran on the Mall all hell would break loose. If you deny that, then just go back into your pink shoe wearing, amnesty for all, George W and Rush are the devil poster filled hole. I'm not trying to be a jerk but just reasonable. So why is it ok to remove the stars from our flag and replace it with the President's face? Is it because Obama  doesn't know how many states are in the Union (there's 50) so his faithful followers are trying to help him out? We could revert to our favorite scenario, if a Republican let's say decided to put George W's face in place of the stars, again like the Quran burning, it would light a whole bunch of public fury. I'm so sick of this double standard crazy that the other side likes to utilize. I'm over this "do as we say or else get out of this country." If that mentality is kept up then perhaps before long, people with money who pay the most into the system will get fed up and leave. Then we'll have an entire country looking like Detroit.

Now if you go back to the Twitchy article, if you look at one of the screenshots, the lady waving the flag seems to be a member of the National Education Association (NEA), which is... The teachers' union. Awesome. I understand that teachers back when I was in grade school weren't allowed to disclose their political affiliations in the classroom. Social studies teachers to include history and government teachers were to remain neutral on how they presented certain events and people in history. Somehow, I don't feel that neutrality exists amongst a majority of our teachers today -- especially those teaching at the high school level. I'm not even going to touch at the university level, as a political science major, I had my fair share of liberal professors but always stuck my ground. It does bother me that an apparent member of the NEA was proudly wearing this flag. Does she remain impartial in her classroom, or does she ferret out students' parents' political affiliations and find fun ways to punish them in order to create mini-locksteppers? As the mother of a toddler, it is instances like this as well as Common Core that really makes me want to homeschool B if we can't afford Montessori.

Finally, finally... I wonder how much trouble we would get in if I decided to fly an American flag upside down in front of our house one day. Granted I'm sure a lot of people wouldn't even begin to know the meaning behind that and would probably roll their eyes, assuming we're idiots, or come ring my doorbell to inform me of my "error". I doubt that they'd think the best of me if I just laughed at them and shut the door in their face, but at this point I'd fly Old Glory upside down before I ever let a flag fly desecrated with the face of our President.

No comments:

Post a Comment