Well, I'd like to say I'm surprised but I'm not. Go figure that his highness came out and politicized the shooting at the Navy Yard -- while memorializing the victims of this shooting. I think it's safe to say that by now we all know how I feel about gun control, if you don't check previous posts. The fact that he thinks it's ok to turn a speech remembering the victims of this latest tragedy into something political is his specialty, and again I beg of him, pay attention to Chicago. Where was his calling for the American people to become outraged and start crying for more gun control when eight people were murdered in Chicago over Labor Day weekend? But it's cool, keep on keeping on man. And we have Bill Clinton to thank for outlawing military members and civilians on posts to carry their personal weapons. It kind of blows my mind to think that if people could carry on post (which hubby hates that if we're coming back on post and need to stop at the commissary or whatever he has to go home first and lock up his gun and then backtrack to the PX; also it can't be left in your vehicle, we've had friends who live off post drop their shotguns at our house for the day to go shoot skeet after work so they don't get in trouble) that maybe Ft Hood and the Yard shootings wouldn't have been tragedies, that perhaps less people would have been killed or wounded. Maybe it's time for the top brass to lobby Congress to get rid of that stupid rule and let at the very least service members carry their personal weapons with them. I mean, they do have weapons training and routinely qualify and for the most part they are responsible with weapons (yes, we've all heard of the "accidents" -- which aren't really accidents but acts of negligence). My opinion, everyone needs weapons training and to learn how to respect weapons and yes even arm themselves since it's clear that the thugs will continue to be glorified.
Over the weekend there was the mall shooting in Kenya (I did a quick blurb about it on the facebook page last night) and there was a bombing of Christians in Pakistan. Right now the Kenyan shooting is getting more press because it targeted a place popular with ex-pats, and therefore non-Muslims. I know if you haven't heard you might think, why should that matter? Well it matters because the perpetrators actually let Muslims go free before they started to attack people. Well isn't that just a great big ol' act of kindness and humanity. As of this morning, it was still being reported that the only American victims were numbered at four and suffered wounds and nothing more severe. But guess what? The FBI is on it's way! Yeah, within 48 hours the FBI is already investigating what happened because it's also being reported that several of the gunmen came from the States. Awesome. So maybe if an American was involved in the attack on the consulate in Benghazi then the government would have acted in a much faster capacity, never mind that four Americans were killed in Benghazi. I know, details are rarely important to this administration but I'm over the whole broad picture when in reality details do matter in instances like Benghazi (and the IRS scandal, and NSA spying on the people, and guns being run in Mexico, I might need to add some new tinfoil to my hat). As for the church bombing in Pakistan, my heart breaks. I know that there's always going to be bad seeds in any religion, and honestly I don't care what religion you are or aren't, terrorizing and targeting people based on their religion is just sick. But of course, the administration doesn't want to really acknowledge that non-Muslims in Africa and the Middle East are being targeted because it doesn't help whatever ridiculous agenda they have.
And speaking of ridiculous agendas, YAY for House Republicans!! On Friday they passed a great piece of legislation that would keep the government running while defunding Obamacare. Of course O is threatening military pay (we're all just laughing at him, and I for one would be rolling if top brass down range said, yeah with all due respect, you don't want to pay the guys who protect this country and have a job to do and actually do their job, well then we're just gonna hang out and not go to work until you decide to pay them), and people are starting to panic and everyone who champions this horrible health care plan is already blaming the Republicans for shutting down the government -- even though the Senate has yet to vote on it. Ol' Reid is saying that backing the House bill is "futile" and that Obamacare will be funded no matter what, despite the fact that a vast majority of the American people do not want it. The best commentary on this came from Rep Cory Gardner (R-CO) and how Obamacare has screwed his family. Awesome. But you know, it's all about taxing people enough to make them give up and rely on the government for food, housing and healthcare. Clearly, we've strayed from the original intent of our Founding Fathers.
Oh, hey Rand's on Fox & Friends, time to go!
No comments:
Post a Comment